The Power Of Positivity?

So, we’ve all heard it. We are told: #pma. Positive Mental Attitude.  “Think positive”. “Don’t be so negative”.

Does it work?? I am naturally of a cautious and rather negative mind set. I don’t easily let go, and unfortunately, my experience of life is that it can sometimes be intolerably cruel. I am definitely not where I want to be in life. The Law was career I chose because it would give me security, financially, or so I thought. It had a designated career path, it was a respected profession.  Well, it is respected. There is a career path but I have fought long and hard to get there.

At nearly 30, I still live at home, I am single. I don’t have a huge amount to show for my twenties, if I am honest. Although, I am unsure where I really saw my life going, when I look back, I am definitely responsible for not “seizing the day” in the past, and this I think is part of the reason why I find myself where I am now…

 

A new job, a promotion, is definitely a positive step in the right direction. Leaving my colleagues, many of whom have become friends was a wrench. I am enjoying the challenges of the new role, and meeting and working with new people.

So, that’s where I am… I am not unhappy but I am at times lonely. Many friends are married, have children or live far away. I have for the past couple of months, been making a positive effort to be positive!! It can be really difficult. I am surprised how difficult. I would be interested to hear from anyone who is currently exercising the positive thinking behaviour and who has found it to be successful, as well as those who are not!

Over the next few weeks I will be reporting back on this, and the challenges I have faced in keeping it up…

 

Lots of love Sophie xx

One thought on “The Power Of Positivity?

  1. I do believe in PMA but I feel that the first step is to connect internally and to become self-aware. We all dream on high levels and integrity and self- actualisation allows us to become realistic and accepting in our choices. It’s hard to remain positive externally but if we realise how much we control, and do not control, then the small steps can make a difference 🙂

Leave a comment