Back in the saddle…

So, back in June I blogged about the fact that I had ridden horses/ ponies as a child, and how I had decided to try again. I had a few minor, although nasty injuries in my teens and I finally packed the riding in in my early twenties. It was happening upon the blog of Amanda Shirtcliffe, a rather inspirational para rider, which made me start thinking about horses again. Once the idea was in my head, I knew I had to give it a try.

( Amanda’s blog is well worth checking out http://www.pararider.co.uk)

So, with a friend who had never ridden I headed to my local stables, Moor Farm in Corley near Coventry.  http://www.moorfarmstables.co.uk

Our instructor Michele was friendly and I felt instantly at home as soon as I was back in the saddle! My mount for the first lesson was a lovely dark bay cob called Oscar. At 16hh he was considerably larger that the horses and ponies I had generally ridden in my youth. The lesson was going well and I was feeling smug about all the things I had remembered when unfortunately Oscar, who suffers a little with sweet itch, was bitten by a horse fly, at which point he gave a little buck and charged off round the school with me in a bouncy canter! I survived, he calmed down and I continued with the lesson. Lesson learnt, don’t be smug! The lesson was absolutely a great idea, and I have been going fortnightly since. I think it will take a while to get my confidence back, but it is a fun and rewarding hobby as well as being good general exercise!

Check back for more equestrian updates soon!

 

Sophie xx

 

 

Leave a comment